Lo sentimos. Aún no hemos traducido esta página al español. Avísenos si desea que esto sea una prioridad y traduciremos la página lo antes posible.

We're sorry. We have not yet translated this page into Spanish. Please let us know if you want us to make it a priority and we will work to translate it as soon as possible.

Solicitar traducción Request translation

Gracias, su solicitud ha sido presentada. Thank you, your request has been submitted.

Unemployment Insurance Advisory Committee


About the Advisory Committee 

The Unemployment Insurance Advisory Committee (UIAC) consists of nine members: four representing employees, four representing employers and one representing Workforce Development Councils. An ESD representative serves as chair of the committee. The committee’s purpose is to consider and provide advice to the department, legislature and Governor to improve the Unemployment Insurance (UI) program. The committee may consider changes to state statute, comment on department rulemaking and policies, make recommendations on other specified matters, and study issues as the committee determines appropriate. 


Sign up to receive meeting announcements and other information  

Next meeting

Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.


Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 863 1220 3018
One tap mobile
+12532158782,,86312203018# US (Tacoma)

Due to meeting restriction guidelines laid out by state government, this meeting will be conducted via Zoom only. 

Recording Disclaimer: This meeting is being recorded and will be live-streamed by TVW. Please be advised that your image and voice will be captured and recorded during the videoconference. Your participation in this videoconference equals consent to be recorded as required by law.

Committee Members

Department Representative:

Dan Zeitlin, Employment System Policy Director


Employee Representatives:

Sybill Hyppolite, Washington State Labor Council
Cindy Richardson, UNITE HERE Local 8
Josh Swanson, Operating Engineers 302
Brenda Wiest, Teamsters 117


Employer Representatives:

Bob Battles, Association of Washington Business
Julia Gorton, Washington Hospitality Association
Tammie Hetrick, Washington Food Industry Association
Jerry VanderWood, Association of General Contractors


Workforce Development Council Representative:

Joy Emory, Washington Workforce Association

Employment Security Department Committee Contacts


Dan Zeitlin
Director, Employment System Policy and Integrity Division


Wendy Goldmark