FREQUENTLY USED LINKS
Reporting new hires
Washington employers are required by law (RCW 26.23.040) to report all new employees within 20 days of hire. This also applies to employees who are rehired, if they haven't worked for the company in the past 60 days.
How to report new hires and rehires
Report new hires to the Division of Child Support at the Washington State Department of Social and Health Services. You will find detailed information about the reporting methods on their website. They share this information with us.
This reporting requirement helps the state collect child support and helps stop unemployment-insurance fraud, an important factor in keeping tax rates stable.